(03) 6344 2411

About Launceston PCYC

Launceston PCYC is a registered charity and an initiative of the Tasmania Police working in conjunction with community and other youth support agencies to help develop young people in positive directions.

We have a broad range of social and recreational activities that you can attend. These activities help fund the work we do with vulnerable, disengaged and disadvantaged young people.

As a key community service organisation we aim to provide a safe environment for young people, and other community members to participate in fun, affordable recreation and well-being based activities.

Our Annual Report and Strategic Plan are available at Key Documents.


A volunteer committee oversees the management of PCYC Launceston. The Board of Management is made up of people from a broad range of professions who can help guide the direction and management of the club. New nominees are always welcome. If you would like to contribute to the future of the Club by joining the Board of Management, please fill out a nomination form available in Key Documents.

The Board of Management employs the Club Manager and Tasmania Police provides a Club Officer to work with young people at risk.

Club Manager
Bec Reedman – 2018 – present
Bec has a background in Business Management, Marketing and Community Development.  Having studied Business Management at Charles Sturt University, Contemporary Arts at UTAS and Event Management at Adelaide University, Bec brings an eclectic set of skills and experiences to this role.  Bec has worked in community development since 2001 working in State Government, Local Government and Not for Profit sectors.  She has held senior management roles in the Not for Profit sector since 2007.

Board Members
President – Jon Erwin – Member 2007 – present
Jon has gained both a Masters and Bachelor of Business from Charles Sturt University. He has extensive experience in small businesses particularly in regional business management as well as having had several years in a small business advisory role. He is currently the Business Manager with a Launceston based medical practice.

Vice President – Rachel Galvin – Member 2017 to present
Rachel has a degree in Social Work which she completed in 2016. She has experience with working with vulnerable families, mental health and disability and is currently working as a NDIS Local Area Coordinator for Baptcare. She has been a member of PCYC since childhood and has enjoyed being involved in various of the programs that have been on offer over the years.

Treasurer - John Rays - 2019 - present
John is presently Secretary/Financial Administrator for the Pilgrim Uniting Church and Treasurer for the attached outreach organisation, Maggies Café. Since moving to Tassie from Sydney in 2010 John has volunteered as Treasurer for the Workers Club and the Launceston Blues Club.  John has a Diploma in Accountancy acquired through the Commercial Education Society of Australia.

Secretary – Hannah Phillips – Member 2015 to present
Hannah was admitted as a barrister and solicitor in the Supreme Court of Tasmania in 2012 having completed her Bachelor of Laws and Bachelor of Arts through the University of Tasmania. She has been working with the Tasmanian Aboriginal Legal Service since 2015 in the area of criminal law. Prior to her current position she was employed as the Youth Justice Lawyer with the Legal Aid Commission of Tasmania and has a strong interest in assisting youth at risk in the community.

Member – Shelley Ridgeway 2016 to present
Shelley’s expertise is in Marketing Communications (including management experience), Customer Service and Administration drawn from a 30-year work history in Higher Education, Commercial Law, Tourism and Government. She consults to small business in the areas of social media and marketing. She has a Bachelor of Arts in Social Sciences from Deakin University and a Graduate Diploma in Publishing and Editing from RMIT.

Member – Graeme Thomas – 2018 to present
Graeme brings a wealth of knowledge and experience having been a small business proprietor and holding many varied volunteer roles both in management and motivator roles.  Graeme has been attending PCYC Seniors Fitness and has a passion for helping others achieve their best.

Life Govenor – Eve Thorpe
Eve has hospital, tertiary and management qualifications in General, Midwifery and Child Health nursing.  Her studies were completed at the Launceston General Hospital, the Queen Victoria Hospital (High Street) and the University of Tasmania.  She has worked in clinical and administrative positions in hospital and community settings.  Her interest in PCYC began in the 1980s when her daughter commenced gymnastics.  During the past forty years, she has assisted as a volunteer and served as Vice President and President of the Board of Management.  Now retired, she continues her interest in PCYC activities as a current Board member.

Commissioner’s Representative – Inspector Ruth Orr

Close Menu